Mohtarma Maryam Nawaz Sharif co-chaired the 2nd meeting of the National Steering Committee of Prime Minister’s National Health Insurance

 Mohtarma Maryam Nawaz Sharif co-chaired the 2nd meeting of the National Steering Committee of Prime Minister’s National Health Insurance Program as an architect of the scheme along with State Minister for National Health Services & Regulations, Madam Saira Afzal Tarar  to take stock of the implementation status of decisions taken in the first meeting of the said committee, here today.


The meeting decided to initially cover 16 districts from all over the country including AJK, FATA and GB under the scheme in the first phase to provide 100% cash free tertiary health care facilities to the poorest of the poor families in the selected districts.


The meeting was attended by all the provincial health departments’ representatives who    briefed in detail about the establishment of dedicated Project Management Units in their respective provinces besides the nomination of focal persons at provincial and district levels for the efficient handling of the remarkable pro-poor health care initiative of the present democratically elected government beyond political considerations.


The meeting further decided to give a go-ahead to Ministry of National Health Services and Regulations for floating EoI (expression of Interest) for the selection of qualified insurance companies to implement the program.

Addressing the provincial health departments’ representatives, Mohtarma Maryam Nawaz Sharif remarked, “launching of this scheme would materialize another vision of cashfree medical coverage for the down-trodden sections of the society in order to make Pakistan a truly social welfare state”.


Mohtarma Maryam Nawaz Sharif further said that Prime Minister accords top priority to the welfare of under-privileged segments of society and his government is making strenuous efforts for their care and uplift”.

Designed & Developed by


National Information Technology Board,
Ministry of Information Technology

© Copyrights - All rights are reserved.